Tuesday, 20 May 2008

Vaughan Williams: Charterhouse Suite

The Charterhouse Suite started life as a Suite of Six Short Pieces for Pianoforte. They were composed prior to 1920 and were published in 1921. James Brown, who was at that time the editor of the Polychordia String Library, arranged the six pieces for string orchestra - with the composer's blessing. The six movements are
2.Slow Dance
3.Quick Dance
4.Slow Air
6.Pezzo ostinato
Brown's competence has resulted in a short suite that is 'pure ' RVW. It epitomised all that is best in the composer's toolkit. However, it is not just a pure transcription of the pieces - an academic exercise - but a re-presentation of this exquisite material. For listeners who wish there were more pieces like the Fantasia on Greensleeves this is a gold mine.

Charterhouse Suite on Naxos

1 comment:

Webrarian said...

I'm not sure how I missed this. The title has been familiar for year, but somehow I've escaped hearing it.

The second movement proved familiar - must have been from the piano original